Become a part of the TranceAddict community! Frequently Asked Questions - Please read this if you haven'tSearch the forums
TranceAddict Forums > DJing / Production / Promotion > Production Studio > 2016/17 Winter Gas.
Pages (14): « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 »   Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread    Post A Reply
Richard Butler
Supreme tranceaddict



Registered: Apr 2009
Location: London

quote:
Originally posted by DJ RANN
It kinda is, but basically a dedicated one that only runs MPC. You're really buying it becuase it's a stand alone box that has tons of memory but all the usual MPC functionality. It's tryign to appeal to those that don't want to use a laptop and a controller.



I wanted to mention that some folk swear by the timing and quantization found in certain MPC's and cite this as a reason to use over PC's.

Must admit I've never been happy with the timing / quantization of Cubase, I literally sometimes cannot get the timing right no matter how forensically I move the notes under 100 x magnification


___________________
https://soundcloud.com/butlerrichard

Old Post Aug-30-2017 14:25  United Kingdom
Click Here to See the Profile for Richard Butler Click here to Send Richard Butler a Private Message Add Richard Butler to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
evo8
Virtual Wannabe



Registered: Aug 2004
Location:

quote:
Originally posted by Richard Butler
So I took delivery yesterday of a Pittsburgh Lifeforms SV1 analog module.

Thinking of getting a little mixer, preferably with pre-amps to run this and my Roland JD XA into, followed by my new Eventide Space unit and then into the RME Fireface interface.


Behringer do the Xenyx 802 (and I think a 502) - but they seem wayyy too cheap at about 50. Some say they are noisy. I'm tempted but cant work out if these are suitable for synths - everyone talks about MIC use as far as I've yet found.

MY AIMS;

1) A handy simple mixer all set up so both synths and my MIC all routed through one box then into the Fireface

2) I've always wanted to run the synths and MIC through 'something' like a pre-amp (lol) to perhaps round-off and slightly enhance (dare I say 'densify'..) the sound. I realise this opens me up for some flaming and some will say there's really no need to run synths through anything, just straight into the Fireface interface.


As a reminder I'm a bit of a cheap-skate and don't like spending much on gear as I am very investment-anal and also the house needs new windows etc and I always say to my wife we can make do without (new windows alone would cost 25000) - we could easily spend 150,000 on the house - so spending on music gear must be sneaked through, sporadic and small!


not sure on the mixer but if you want a "sound" from the pre-amp you are probably better off getting something older/vintage as pre-amps are supposed to sound clean

personally id spend my money on something else but thats just me - i did look into all this stuff before and honestly i think you can buy anything and convince yourself its sounding better/making a difference


___________________
hearthis
soundcloud
youtube

Old Post Aug-30-2017 15:19  Ireland
Click Here to See the Profile for evo8 Click here to Send evo8 a Private Message Visit evo8's homepage! Add evo8 to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
Mel David
Supreme tranceaddict



Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney

Just mike up your monitors if you want to add that extra realistic depth to your mix. That's essentially what's missing from synths. That 'air'. A mixer won't do much except add a bit more noise to your signals. The matrix mixer of your Fireface is powerful so just hook it all up to that. Set it up so everything can be routed through the Space unit.

Old Post Aug-30-2017 15:47  Australia
Click Here to See the Profile for Mel David Click here to Send Mel David a Private Message Visit Mel David's homepage! Add Mel David to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
Richard Butler
Supreme tranceaddict



Registered: Apr 2009
Location: London

Thanks I think I will go for this, it's going to be more convenient for me than going straight into the Fireface interface for various reasons, and it's nice to know the strips here come from their big Brother mixing desks

http://www.dv247.com/studio-equipme...e-mixer--231351


I have recorded monitor room output and bleed it back into tracks before, but it's good you remind me of basics like this as its easy to neglect them

Cheers


___________________
https://soundcloud.com/butlerrichard

Old Post Aug-31-2017 15:02  United Kingdom
Click Here to See the Profile for Richard Butler Click here to Send Richard Butler a Private Message Add Richard Butler to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
chris marsh
Supreme tranceaddict



Registered: Feb 2012
Location: london

just purchased a TI snow of ebay - will be my only bit of outboard, although ive owned 3 different incarnations of the virus over the years

Now that im into making mid range/distorted bass im interested to hear what it can do in that department. Was great for trance plucks/pads,basses etc.


___________________
http://soundcloud.com/auroraproject

https://soundcloud.com/cj-marshall-2

Old Post Sep-01-2017 00:08  United Kingdom
Click Here to See the Profile for chris marsh Click here to Send chris marsh a Private Message Add chris marsh to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
DJ RANN
Supreme tranceaddict



Registered: May 2001
Location: Hollywood....

quote:
Originally posted by Richard Butler
I wanted to mention that some folk swear by the timing and quantization found in certain MPC's and cite this as a reason to use over PC's.

Must admit I've never been happy with the timing / quantization of Cubase, I literally sometimes cannot get the timing right no matter how forensically I move the notes under 100 x magnification


It's true. I have the same beef with logic, but the quantisation is a known fault.

Actually with the Electribes, there's the same timing. I made some grooves and they has just the right timing, so dumped the midi, used the same samples in Logic and it sounded different. I ended up having to just record the audio from the Electribe instead of using the midi. I have a theory it has something to do with tiny delays or timing quirks created by the circuitry and I've heard some people say the same thing with MPC's and why oldschool producers just won't give them up.

Old Post Sep-01-2017 02:09 
Click Here to See the Profile for DJ RANN Click here to Send DJ RANN a Private Message Add DJ RANN to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
Zak McKracken
tranceaddict Supreme



Registered: Jun 2003
Location:

always wanted to try a MPC.
Live is a sequencer/sampler right?
Should be perfect match for my Elektron Machinedrum and a Nord Rack 2x for a small techno setup?
Do I even need a mixer then?

Last edited by Zak McKracken on Sep-12-2017 at 15:02

Old Post Sep-12-2017 14:55 
Click Here to See the Profile for Zak McKracken Click here to Send Zak McKracken a Private Message Add Zak McKracken to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
tehlord
Supreme tranceaddict



Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Windsor

quote:
Originally posted by Zak McKracken
always wanted to try a MPC.
Live is a sequencer/sampler right? - Yup
Should be perfect match for my Elektron Machinedrum and a Nord Rack 2x for a small techno setup?
Do I even need a mixer then?
Well you don't need one assuming you have the audio interface inputs, but you might find it useful in a live environment.


___________________
Soundcloud

Old Post Sep-12-2017 21:52  United Kingdom
Click Here to See the Profile for tehlord Click here to Send tehlord a Private Message Add tehlord to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
Richard Butler
Supreme tranceaddict



Registered: Apr 2009
Location: London

I had a moment last night.

Bought a 4 way Miditech interface and was for the first time able to have 3 analog machines running at once.

I was like some redneck staring at his V8 engine turning over for hours in garage.

So noob. I had a big set-up some yrs back, but then went all software. So enjoying that feeling of pissing around in the Man-shed again.

QUESTION; AUDIO CABLES.

I have 2 very high spec audio cables coming out my JD XA, but for my 2 other devices I am just using the standard 5.00 1.8m cables I had to hand.

Last night I felt disappointed that the sound captured as an audio file via these cheap cables did not match the live sound.

Am I imagining this degradation in quality, or is it a thing even over just a 1.8m length?

It could be my mind playing tricks as I was 'looking' for this 'fault' and have known my mind play tricks in the past.

I will do an A/B test using the HQ cables tonight.


___________________
https://soundcloud.com/butlerrichard

Old Post Sep-22-2017 09:34  United Kingdom
Click Here to See the Profile for Richard Butler Click here to Send Richard Butler a Private Message Add Richard Butler to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
Mel David
Supreme tranceaddict



Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney

Yeah most likely expectation bias. You wanting to justify the $ you wasted on gold-plated, specially braided, oxygen-free cable. Does electricity discriminate between ghetto and posh cables, perhaps is a question only Tesla can answer.
Perhaps you desire to be able to proclaim that you have a magic ear, imbued with super-sonic sensitivity and meticulous discernment of the minutest of details unperceived by common mortals.
Or this is just another way to procrastinate making that elusive hit that will rocket you to Illuminati-levels of godliness.

Old Post Sep-22-2017 11:38  Australia
Click Here to See the Profile for Mel David Click here to Send Mel David a Private Message Visit Mel David's homepage! Add Mel David to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
evo8
Virtual Wannabe



Registered: Aug 2004
Location:

quote:
Originally posted by Mel David
Yeah most likely expectation bias. You wanting to justify the $ you wasted on gold-plated, specially braided, oxygen-free cable. Does electricity discriminate between ghetto and posh cables, perhaps is a question only Tesla can answer.
Perhaps you desire to be able to proclaim that you have a magic ear, imbued with super-sonic sensitivity and meticulous discernment of the minutest of details unperceived by common mortals.
Or this is just another way to procrastinate making that elusive hit that will rocket you to Illuminati-levels of godliness.


lol
yeah pretty much agree on the expectation bias thing here


___________________
hearthis
soundcloud
youtube

Old Post Sep-22-2017 17:06  Ireland
Click Here to See the Profile for evo8 Click here to Send evo8 a Private Message Visit evo8's homepage! Add evo8 to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
MSZ
bypass



Registered: Jun 2005
Location: .



Some porn.

Old Post Sep-23-2017 03:19  Poland
Click Here to See the Profile for MSZ Click here to Send MSZ a Private Message Add MSZ to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message

TranceAddict Forums > DJing / Production / Promotion > Production Studio > 2016/17 Winter Gas.
Post New Thread    Post A Reply

Pages (14): « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 »  
Last Thread   Next Thread
Show Printable Version | Subscribe to this Thread

Forum Jump:

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:12.

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is ON
vB code is ON
[IMG] code is ON
 
Search this Thread:

 
Contact Us - return to tranceaddict

Powered by: Trance Music & vBulletin Forums
Copyright ©2000-2017

Privacy Statement / DMCA
Geo Visitors Map

Icon