Become a part of the TranceAddict community!Frequently Asked Questions - Please read this if you haven'tSearch the forums
TranceAddict Forums > Main Forums > Music Discussion > What's new in your crate? [physical/virtual]
Pages (48): « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 »   Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread    Post A Reply
DJ RANN
Supreme tranceaddict

quote:
Originally posted by Woony
Dude, 96k is nonsense for listening purposes. Anything above 44.1/48k and 16 bit lossless doesn't actually change fidelity, just the noisefloor, which is completely imperceptible with digital anyways.

I started buying vinyl around 2011. I'm at a bit over a thousand now, I think. I haven't been buying that much in the past year for various reasons but i'll get back into it eventually.

Actually this is not entirely true.

Let me preface by stating I'm a pro mix engineer for the score industry and regularly work in 24b / 96k in true surround 5 or 7.1 and have even worked in 12.1

For most home/consumer listening purposes 16/44.1 is fine. To take advantage of higher sample rates (more on bit depth later) you A) need to have a trained ear B) very serious sound reproduction equipment that doesn;t have a weak link in the entire signal path and C) a good listening environment (i.e. treated room).

All these things being true and equal, you can hear a difference. If one of these are lacking, the extra disk space that 96k takes up isn't worth it

However, there's strong evidence to show that even through the nyquist theorem is correct up to a point, there's harmonics (of high strings, woods etc) that don't get captured in 44.1k becuase they're above the 20k threshold.

With these sounds, you don't directly "hear" them but they add something in terms of being complete with their lower harmonic counterparts that your brain can detect (and inversely does detect if they're not there).