return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > Production Studio

Pages: [1] 2 3 
Roland SH-201 - First impressions
View this Thread in Original format
Synchronicity
If you have an SH-201 could you please let me know if you have the USB audio working properly, thanks.

Ok, so I got the Roland SH-201 on wednesday for £419 brand new + 3 year warranty.

The box was really big but light and easy to carry. I opened up the box and straight away realised there is no USB cable, so if you buy an SH-201 get a USB cable too. Luckily I had my Radium 49 USB cable to use.

I got updates for the driver and vst editor from the web and installed them.

Then I started playing the synth to see if the audio would go through the USB to my soundcard and out my speakers/headphones. This never worked - there was no sign of any audio going into my PC. I started up cubase thinking that maybe an audio app would have to be running in order for the USB audio to work. The instructions said I had to select 'Roland SH-201' as my master ASIO driver in cubase so I did...

What this did was basically make the SH-201 take over as my soundcard - meaning my main soundcard (ESI Juli@) no longer worked while using the SH-201. I spoke to the techie at roland who said I should try and look for a way of running multiple soundcards/ASIO drivers in cubase (like he does in logic). After some investigation I found that cubase (every version) does not support multiple ASIO drivers, so that might be the problem.

Because the synth is acting as the soundcard, all audio from cubase is played through my SH-201 outputs, not my computer! If I play my waldorf pulse at the same time (using midi thru the SH-201) I can't hear it because the audio goes into my ESI Juli@.

So basically if you want to take advantage of the SH-201's USB audio:

1. Use a sequencer that supports multile ASIO drivers simultaneously... or