return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > DJ Booth

Pages: [1] 2 3 
CD or Vinyl? Whats the best way to start?
View this Thread in Original format
substorm
So, i have thought of this for a long time now, but i have been focusing on my music productions, to get that going. So now im on the right path, i was thinkng of buying som DJ gear.

Im not totally lost regarding mixing and using a Dj setup, but i have no background in this matter, so i wanted to check with you guys what you think is best and easy to start with, CD or a pair of Vinyls?

Thanks
C
discobiscuit
1) vinyl
2) vinyl+serato
3) vinyl+serato+cdj's
4) vinyl+serato+cdj's+ableton

vinyl teaches you the raw art and its all gravy from there...

whatever you do, dont buy cheap equipment. i started w/ cheep stuff and a year later had to upgrade everything... i wish i would have bought quality from the start..
dj_kane
vinyl will die out in a few years so cdjs are a better investment. if your starting off maybe cdj200s but if you have the money get the 800s saves you having to upgrade in the future.

i think getting starter packages is stupid as your always going to upgrade so start at the top and learn to use the top hardware from the beginning. thats my biggest regret as i wasted about £1000 in different mixers then got the djm600 and i wouldnt want a new mixer.

dont listen to people saying its better to start basic it aint, your jsut going to regret the money you waste.
DjWoody
CDJ's + Serato.

That will save you tons of cash on vinyl.
dj_kane
quote:
Originally posted by DjWoody
CDJ's + Serato.

That will save you tons of cash on vinyl.

would a laptop not also be required for this setup?
xstalkrx
haha another endless vinyl / cd thread...

but ya...vinyl is a waste of time..and MONEY if you ask me. Ya..it will teach you the art...but so will cd's.