return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > Production Studio

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 
My Question Thread :D
View this Thread in Original format
neverforget
I'm trying to figure out how to setup my first studio. I still haven't purchased anything as of now but I've been doing some research into it.

Anyway, say for example I want to record a guitar or bass, can these go "directly" into an audio interface or must they first go through a mixer? I'm still extremely new to all this but I personally thought an audio interface had "Audio input jacks" for guitar, bass etc, to be recorded :conf: Also, does the same apply for microphones?

Thanks! :tongue2

EDIT: I've turned this into a thread to ask multiple questions in. Please bare with me as I've only just started learning! Feedback on my questions would be great!!
evo8
Depending on the audio interface, yes, they can go directly into it, no need for a mixer as far i know anyway
neverforget
quote:
Originally posted by evo8
Depending on the audio interface, yes, they can go directly into it, no need for a mixer as far i know anyway

Thanks man :D
glsmaster
Hey there, you can plug your instruments directly to the interface, thing is when you are tryng to connect some other devices, is for that reason you need a mixer, no need for one very expensive, there's a ton of mixers out there that cover this need.

In my case I use a little 4 CH mixer to connect some desktop synth, a microphone and so on.

Good luck man.

Cheers.
neverforget
quote:
Originally posted by glsmaster
Hey there, you can plug your instruments directly to the interface, thing is when you are tryng to connect some other devices, is for that reason you need a mixer, no need for one very expensive, there's a ton of mixers out there that cover this need.

In my case I use a little 4 CH mixer to connect some desktop synth, a microphone and so on.

Good luck man.

Cheers.

Ok, thanks man!
neverforget