Become a part of the TranceAddict community!Frequently Asked Questions - Please read this if you haven'tSearch the forums
TranceAddict Forums > Main Forums > Chill Out Room > The unvacinated invade food court in staten island
Pages (3): « 1 2 [3]   Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread    Post A Reply
Lira
Ancient BassAddict

quote:
Originally posted by Syntonic
Thanks for your replies Lira and Lews and for not jumping on the hate train. I also want to apologize for my snarky comment about putting whatever in your body.

It's fine, good forums are supposed to have some spice every now and then

As for my replies below, keep in mind I'm a doctor... in linguistics, so I'm by no means an expert. I just happend to find this interesting and advise you to read more into it from actual experts.
quote:
Why do these companies have liability protection if they stand behind their product?

As far as I know, it's one of those "this is why we can't have nice things situation": when vaccination became more widespread and mandatory, specially in adults, some people would get vaccinated and then blame whatever condition they developed next on the jab.

I'm not saying they didn't do it in good faith, because it may well have been the vaccine in some very rare occurrences (H1N1 vaccines are reported to have caused serious side-effects at a rate of 2.45 per 100,000 doses, for example), but how can you distinguish it from the classic post hoc fallacy?

For example, let's say I develop leukemia now that I've had two shots of Astrazeneca. How can you assure me it wasn't caused by the vaccine?

Now, this is only half of the story because, not being a doctor, this is what I got from reports here in Brazil that came out when our previous health minister (who had no background in medicine, as he was a general) stalled negotiations with Pfizer because our president (a former army captain) got all hung up with this problem.
quote: