return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > Main Forums > Chill Out Room

Pages: [1] 2 
My bi-monthly half-drunken rant
View this Thread in Original format
DigiNut
...the other half will probably come somewhere around the middle of this post, when I finish off the next cup of Bailey's and hot chocolate.

So essentially I've wasted most of the day on this forum, the first half of the day due to wanting just about anything to distract myself from the horrible 10-page essay I had to write on some ridiculously annoying and pointless stories from some guy named Kafka, whose name reminds me primarily, if not solely, of the supervillain in the original Final Fantasy VI for the Super FamiCom, and the second half of the day due to the fact that I'm an electrical engineer and am legally barred from having any kind of real social life for the next month and a half - honestly, I think if I tried to go to a club, the police would show up, drag me back home in cuffs, and slam my face into an open electronics textbook. But I digress, since this is not the focus of my rant.

Getting to the point again, basically I've noticed a peculiarity - or should I say, an extremely goddamn annoying habit that only seems to get more annoying the more I have to deal with it - among people. This obsession is that they always have to warn me that I might not like something before they give it to me. In extreme cases, not only do they feel the need to warn me beforehand, but they also insist on warning me AFTER I've received it but before I've had a chance to react.

Now honestly, what the fcuk? Do people somehow think I'm going to feel sorry for them if they put themselves down, and that I'll tell them I'm impressed even if I think I've been given the most worthless piece of ever?

Some examples:
- "Here's my part of the lab report. Sorry, I know it kind of sucks."