return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > DJ Booth

Pages: [1] 2 
Vinyl Theory 101 for me, a newbie. Help !!!
View this Thread in Original format
SuckUpMySenses
ok, so im new to mixing and am going to ask, im sure a very simple question to you all. I don't know the difference between an LP, Promo, etc etc. or what they even are.
I take it that an LP is a vinyl with all songlistings that are also available on a cd ( 10 - 15 songs on a vinyl) ? I dont know if i have this right. I was also wondering whether or not you can mix with vinyl.. that has numerous songs on it (LP)? I dont know the difference between 7" 12" 9", etc . etc. I know the obvious difference is the size... but can a turntable spin all of these sizes ? So i guess all im saying , is write the most you can about the basics of vinyl.. all sizes .. all symbols (LP), promo, etc. and all types. a1, a2.. are these the different sides, as in cd1 and cd2 of cds? IM SO CONFUSED. :conf: If you are still here reading this, thank you so much ! I'm very new to vinyl... please be patient :D
Floorfiller
Promo

is a PROMOTIONAL pressing of a vinyl. that is copies that are pressed before it has been signed to a label or pressed in order to give to dj's to try out before officially released...

LP

i believe stands for LIMITED PRESS meaning that there is only one track (and remixes of that track) on a vinyl. an example would be say a vinyl had this...

A1: DJ Tiesto - Sparkles (Transa Mix)
B1: DJ Tiesto - Sparkels (Starecase Mix)

same song...different mixes...

EP

i believe stands for EXTENDED PRESS meaning that there is multiple tracks available...example...

B1: DJ Tiesto - Theme From Norjfell (Magik Musik Mix)

two totally different tunes...

If a vinyl has more than one track on it...that's good!!! That just means that you have more to play with. I have this 2x12" vinyl...

A1: Way Out West - The Fall
A2: Way Out West - Intensify Prt 2
A3: Way Out West - Activity