return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > DJ Booth

Pages: [1] 2 
Crucial Question Concerning Tone Arm Adjustment
View this Thread in Original format
thicket
Alright. I have been spinning cds for a while now but I am a Noob at spinning vinyl. I just got my technics table today (used on ebay)to add to the cd set up. The problem is I don't know how to play records! Laugh as you must but it is true, I can't get this thing to work. What is happening is that whenever I place the needle on the record the tone arm pulls it dramatically to the outside of the record (off the record really unless I catch the thing). I have tried various combinations with the weight, height, anti-skate but none of them are keeping the needle from pulling off the record. I have an Ortofon Concorde cartridge and needle. Any tips?
Boomer187
eh, try to put your anti skate to zero, and your height to zero.

then twist the weight on the back so that your tone arm just kinda floats there....neither falls down nor flys up. twist the numbers so that 0 is on the line, then twist it to 2.5 er so.

if that doesn't work, sell them to me for $60.
TranceLuver4evr
quote:
Originally posted by Boomer187
if that doesn't work, sell them to me for $60.

I'll raise the bid to $61.......
thicket
Thanks for the advice Boomer but the thing still isn't working. The anti skate is set at zero, the height zero, and the tonearm floating there uselessly. Then, after I get the weight right I increase to 2.5, push that little tone arm lever down, drop the needle and there it goes skating to the outside. You don't think my tone arm is shot do you? Is there supposed to be any click sound when you rotate the skate knob or should you feel any kind of resistance when you adjust the skate to zero or vice versa?
thicket
You guys are sharks! I'm not sellin!
auujay
It sounds like it is shot man. Bummer.
Boomer187
$61.23. final offer....SOLD>