return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > DJ Booth

Pages: [1] 2 
Storing and Caring for Vinyl
View this Thread in Original format
PersianMafia
Alright guys, I'd appreciate any comments/suggestions, I'm new to the vinyl game. Here it goes

- What kind of storage can you recommend for me? Is it best to get a case, if so should it be steel, plastic, material, or is it better to leave on a shelf?

- What about the records themselves, whats the best way to clean them and get ride of the dust that falls on them? Any special cloths/chemicals or is a simple damp cloth good enough. If so a circular motion is best right? And how often would you clean your vinyl?

- What about sleeves. Some of my vinyl don't have paper sleeves just the original cardboard covers. Is it possible to buy the paper sleeves or are they pointless?

That's it for now, thanks! Sorry if numerous threads on this have already passed, if so you can just post their link.

Thanks.
i got big pants
regular milk crates work fine for me. i usually make sure that they're at an angle in the event i dont have a crate or there isnt enough vinyl in a crate. I try and avoid direct sunlight, and i try to keep them in a place where it doesnt get too hot either.

ive heard groove glide works great...and those little cicle pads...i havent tried either...but i really should, especially for records i score off of ebay.

hope that helps a bit
Cheetah86