return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > DJ Booth

Pages: [1] 2 3 
I want to B a DJ - questions - HELP PLEASE!
View this Thread in Original format
discobiscuit
hey guys, i was thinkin about getting into spinning (all types of music). i was gonna get a cdj setup, but recently changed my mind and i think im gonna get vinyl tuntables. it is sooo much cheeper and it seems like its just better than cdj'ing... anyway, im really new to this ~ i dont even know how a turntable works or anything... i have never spun... i love music of all types. i followed phish for about 4 yrs and when they broke up i started following the disco biscuits. i have seen a lot of DJ's open for the biscuits and i am really interested in how i could get started. i have soo many questions (simple,stupid,basic questions) and dont even want to try to squeeze them all into a post. i was wondering if some of u guys could send me your screennames for instant messaging so i can just chat one on one and get some questions answered.

here are the type of questions i have:

-what equipment should i get
-where should i get it
-where to get vinyl (i was lookin at vinly4cheep.com)
-how vinyl gets damaged and basic tips about vinyl
-cartridge questions (should i have a few diff kinds/what kind)
-what equip should i get for effects
-whats w/ the headphone on 1 ear (LOL)
-techniques for spinning

like i said i have a lot of questions and would appreciate some help

please email your aol, aim, or whatever screenname to bjc227@psu.edu, or IM me (AIM screenname is phishology101)

thanks,
bisco
Trance Nutter
grrrrrrrrrr

search and you shall find.