return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > DJ Booth

need help beatmatching!
View this Thread in Original format
trancelova
I have turntables and a mixer, and am having trouble sometimes beatmatching. Is there any paticular techniques that are used? I try to do different things, but sometimes it just doesn't work. Suggestions?
pkcRAISTLIN
since youre new ill be gentle.

first off

www.recess.co.uk

try there.

but the only real answer (and youre gonna hate it) is PRACTICE. its really that simple. it might seem impossible right now but thats coz you havent tried very hard or for very long.

as an aside, this is the largest edm site in the world, do you really think youre the first person to want help with beatmatching? use the search option, thats what its there for ;)
Basstard
oh u beat me to it!

tho i was gonna be much much meaner :whip:

;)
A.J.
I am only learning to beatmatch now too, but I have read a lot about "learning to DJ" on the internet :p

One of the best tips that I have read is to be gentle when adjusting the pitch and lining up the beats.

If the beats are almost matched or they are matched, and then they slowly start to drift, try and use just a tiny little push/tap with the pitch slider instead of a big change. A big problem I found when I first started is that i kept making changes that were too big so I would be going back and forth all the time. SMALL CHANGES!

I prefer to use the pitch slider mainly as I find that I am too clumsy and innacurate when touching the platter, but you can touch the platter with your hands as well to make adjustments as well.

This is how i visualise the way to beatmatch:

(1) You start off by rocking the incoming record back and forth on the first beat in time with the record playing, and then you let it go so that it's (hopefully) running at the same time as the record playing: