return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > DJ Booth

Pages: [1] 2 
Kill Switches?
View this Thread in Original format
LinX
so im new to this whole thing i just noticed that my kill switches high, med, low simply bring the ranges from normal level (or where ever it was previoulsy set) straight to zero.. can someone give me pointers as to where this would play into mixing or where one would use them?? it prob sounds dumb im sure but my mixer's got them along with prob everyone out on the market so i was just wondering.
mikefasssy
say you want to totally switch basslines in a mix..instead of slamming the respective knobs (on a lot of mixers the lowest point on the knob isn't even a full cut hence kill switches) just flip the respective switches, saves a few milliseconds.

fun to have, not a lot of mixers have them which kind of sucks if you get used to using them a lot (cough me cough).
Vero
my PCV-275 the kill switches take the EQ down to about having the nob turned all the way down. for mine the only way to get a "true" kill is to hit the switch and crank the EQ to full neg. i kinda like that though. i can flip a switch and still keep a little bit of the low-mid while im mixing into something else.

just play with em in a mix, some people dont like to use em. i think they are fun.
n3lly
quote:
Originally posted by Vero
my PCV-275 the kill switches take the EQ down to about having the nob turned all the way down. for mine the only way to get a "true" kill is to hit the switch and crank the EQ to full neg. i kinda like that though. i can flip a switch and still keep a little bit of the low-mid while im mixing into something else.

just play with em in a mix, some people dont like to use em. i think they are fun.

lol.. i have the same mixer and thought exactly the same as yourself there! Love the kill switches.. it's a pity though that the center channel doesn't have any kills :(