return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > DJ Booth

Connecting everything...HeLp!
View this Thread in Original format
Pasta
This is my first time hooking up a complete set up and quite frankly I'm a beginner when it comes to audio cables and what not. Below is everything I have, please let me know exactly what I need as far as cables since plugging it is pretty straight forward.

I have:
2 CDJ800's, an Allen & Heath Xone:32 and a Logitech z5500 which is already connected to my laptop through a Creative Audigy Notebook Adapter.

Now, the rear of the Logitech system is like so: FRONT - REAR - CENTER ..then.. DIGITAL COAX - DIGITAL OPTICAL.
The first 3 are being used by my laptop.

So what's the easiest way of setting this up? And what cables will I need? I want to be able to switch easily on my control unit to be able to just use my laptop for everyday use, and then switch when mixing so I can still hear out of surround...is it possible?
Mav 3000
Plug the CDJ800s into the Line inputs of your mixer, one on Channel 1, the other on Channel 2. Plug the 'Master Out' of the mixer into the input of your Logitech's. If the only input of the Logitech's is being used by your PC, you may have to swap the inputs to the speakers from laptop to mixer each time you want to mix. Ideally, you really need an AMP with multiple inputs between your mixer/laptop and your speakers as this will allow multiple inputs, routing whcihever you choose to the speakers.

Alternatively, plug the output of the laptop into the Line In on Channel 3 of your mixer and route the PC sound through the maixer to the speakers. This will mean keeping your mixer on when using the laptop.

Alternatively, use headphones on the laptop and logitechs with the mixer exclusively.

Hope this gives you some ideas and is roughly accurate for your situation!
Pasta
quote:
Originally posted by Mav 3000