return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > DJ Booth

Pages: [1] 2 
cds or vinyl??? opinions pls.
View this Thread in Original format
dancevirtu
So i am lookin in to gettin a dj package (im a rookie). Im not lookin to make a career of this just a hobby. I cant decide what would be better turntables or cds. I obviously like the idea of having back up copies on cd instead of one vinyl that I can break, lose and have to replace at retail cost. Although I do like classic vinyl its the root and I like that. Is there a difference in sound quality, scratching..ect. Like I said its a hobby I have no experience and I dont have tons of cash to spend on vinyl (unless its worth it). So I would appreciate your advice for I have no idea what im doing.
thanx
dancevirt
DJ 00 Tommy
There is a 52 page long sticky at the top of the dj booth called vinyl vs cds and if you do a search you will find many others...
Aquarian
Don't listen to anyone's personal preferance, they all have their reasons. You be your own judge.

Vinyl

PROS:

- "Authentic feel"
- Very slight difference in sound
- Scratching
- Turntables cheaper than CDJs

CONS:

- Expensive to buy
- Harder to find (in some cases)
- Wears out quickly, limited lifetime
- Cracks and pops (so much for the quality argument)
- Storage is very space-demanding (if you have a large collection)
- Alot of recent tracks aren't released on vinyl

CDs

PROS:

- Easier to find (sometimes)
- Sound quality never degrades no matter how much you play it
- Portable - You can store hundreds in a small wallet.
- Cheaper than vinyl
- Allows more sound manipulation
- Access to a wider catalogue of tracks
- Possibility to burn MP3s onto CDRs (which is a must if you produce)

CONS:

- CDJs are expensive
- Can't scratch (unless your CDJ has it as an integrated feature)
- Some older classics were never released on CD
- Insecure elitists will think you're the antichrist, but who cares about them ;)
idoru
quote: