return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > Main Forums > Chill Out Room

Pages: [1] 2 
Going to college... (short version at bottom)
View this Thread in Original format
Akridrot
...right now would probably be a bad decision on my part. At least this is what I was thinking until today. One of my friends just contacted me and told me about how crazy it was. I've been told by some: " the classes, it's not about that.. it's about independendence." People in my life REALLY want me to go, and it's pissing me off. I don't want to go right now, but I haven't told anyone.

See, I am interested in programming and math. I'm not good with the words, but I get the numbers. I'd like to learn what I can on my own (not everything), then go to college when I'm good and ready.

At 18 years, what i'm going to do is:
Get my driver's
Get a Job for a while
Improve and brush up on certain things in my free time
Straighten out various issues in my life, instead of just leaving it all behind like a sucker.

THEN go to college. My mother thinks that all kids should go straight to college as soon as they finish high school. I think that is bull, and would actually be counterproductive for me. I do not want to ing take remedial courses, I want to go to college strictly for the CREDENTIALS (when I need them). Maybe I'll go for some extra things, but I do not feel like I'd do good if I went now.

Is this a bad idea or not? Because I'm struggling to come to a conclusion.

SHORT VERSION:
What's wrong with learning things in my leisure, while having a job.. then going to college for the degree so I can get a better job later?
CONNERMAN2000
I asked a similar question in the cor about a year ago. Actually I think I asked whether or not I should go to college at all, but either way, all I have to say is that its up to you. If you arent going to try hard in your classes, there's no point in going to college yet, since you'll only end up ing yourself.