return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > DJ Booth

Pages: [1] 2 
Mixing Properly
View this Thread in Original format
DJ HARN
OK, so I've been mixing now for only a few years here and there. I'm at the point where I can beat match very well, and I am quite good at eq'ing, but the problem I have is that I don't know where to go from here. I just basically play one track, then about 1.5 to 2 mins before the end, beat match the next track on the next available downbeat and over 40-60secs or so bring in the next tune. Then the same again, and again etc. I know there is more to it than this, but what else can I try? I hope you kind of understand my question because I know what I mean but it's hard to put into words.

Cheers.
Tenshi
depends on what you spin!

if you spin techno get a FX device
if you spin progressive/trance or whatever try harmonic mixing!
DJRecess
There's loads of ways to move on from here, but for starters, how about answering this question?

How do you choose what tunes to put together in the mix?

Do you:

1) Put them together in an order that makes each mix sound good?
2) Just throw any tunes together, regardless of genre, pace, energy etc?
3) Think about a 'progression' in the mix?

Yes, I know the last one is a bit wanky, but even though 'Taking the listener on a journey' has become a cliche' - the ability to build up, take down, level off, increase, (and even just start and finish) a set is just as important a part of DJing as beatmatching etc.

If you're just doing the same mix over and over, then you're right - you're stagnating a bit. Give us some more info (genres, total length of a set, - or even better, a demo mix) and I'm sure the answers will start flooding in.
Jarvmeister
quote:
Originally posted by DJRecess
There's loads of ways to move on from here, but for starters, how about answering this question?

How do you choose what tunes to put together in the mix?

Do you: