return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > DJ Booth

Pages: [1] 2 
plagirism... or is it?
View this Thread in Original format
littlee1816
i'm new to the whole dj'ing scene, and i was wondering...

If you're listening to a dj on a radio show/ live show/ whatever,
say you hear two songs that mix fantastically. Is it wrong to mix the same two songs in a row at a show/ in a set?
djimmersion
redundancy is very prominent in this industry
Fledz
Not at all. Why would it be? If it sounds ing awesome, I would personally love to hear it in a club. You can't copyright "mixing".
kevferris
Quite the opposite! When you mix your aim is to get tunes that sound well together, to get a flow going. Of course you need progression etc in a set, but the idea when you're mixing is to try and mix tunes that mix well together. I mean what do you want? tunes that don't mix well together!?

I don't know why you say Plagiarism? Maybe you simply don't understand what this word means (?)... :)
coolestrl
quote:
Originally posted by kevferris
I don't know why you say Plagiarism? Maybe you simply don't understand what this word means (?)... :)

+1
Stu Cox
quote:
Quite the opposite! When you mix your aim is to get tunes that sound well together, to get a flow going. Of course you need progression etc in a set, but the idea when you're mixing is to try and mix tunes that mix well together. I mean what do you want? tunes that don't mix well together!?

I think you've missed that he's talking about copying a certain sequence of tunes that another DJ did...

e.g. if I saw Armin playing track X and mixing it into track Y, if I didn't think he was a complete pillock I might decide it sounded amazing, go and buy track X and track Y and try and mix them in the same way.