return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > DJ Booth

Pioneer DJM-400 vs. Gemini PS828x
View this Thread in Original format
kliq
Alright, im a bit of a noob when it comes to DJ equipment, so I need some advice...

I've heard fantastic things about the pioneer DJM-400, but im a little wary of two things: 1. the cost 2. only two channels

the Gemini PS828x is cheaper and has 4 channels, but Im wary of the sound quality...

I primarily need the mixer to mix a podcast and to practice in order to play the traditional CDJ 1000 MK3s and DJM-800 set up at a club

could you guys shed some other light on these two mixers? good stuff/bad stuff, and maybe some suggestions on other mixers that are in the sub 200 dollar range... how the effects are, sound quality, outputs etc...

thanks a lot... appreciate it
lxlnaftlxl
DEF go with the 400 ..

If your short on cash dont jump shipp right away and spend money you DONT have lol

look up craigslist .. they always got used going CHEAP

btw .. do you live in LA?
kliq
^ used to live in NY, never the west coast... now im not in the states anymore... have you ever used a gemini before, any comments on the quality of the output?
lxlnaftlxl
oo .. a high school buddy of mine calls himself KliQ too thats why i asked lol ... honestly ive never used a gemini mixer .. but countless people tell me its not worth spending $ on .. if your going to buy something buy the best .. i personally had a flimsy denon x100 (which is a GREAT 2 ch mixer IMHO) simple , yet does the job greatly

I used my buddy's djm 400 and djm 600 , and to me .. i dont know if its a placebo pill kinda thing , but i feel as my transitions are smoother loll
stan229
to me, a mixer is the most important part of the dj kit.. (for example's sake i'd rather have a djm800 and 2 cdj200s over 2 cdj800mk2 and a djm400) i'd get as best as you could
DJ RANN