return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > Production Studio

I get to take a music class this semester what should I take?
View this Thread in Original format
DJ Robby Rox
I had no idea I was doing this because I have 8 credits left to graduate (for pyschology) but I have to take an elective now to keep my grants and financial aid.

So now I have to sign up for a bull elective. I'm searching through the music classes my school offers and have NO IDEA what would be best for me.

I make trance lol, should I take a music theory class or does that usually have prerequiste classes that you have to take first?

I see an "Intro to Piano" too, has anyone ever took a class like that? I'm thinking it might be harder cause I've been playing the piano for 7 years with no education, so I'm thinking it'll be hard to break all my bad habits.
If anyone music majors could recommend something I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks!
MrJiveBoJingles
Pretty sure at least some schools will require that you play an instrument up to a certain standard before taking a theory course. You should figure out what the requirements are for different courses. That will really narrow down your options, if you haven't taken any music courses yet.
floyd741
Take piano but just stay with your technique. I did that and never had any problems. If you can, definitely take a Music Theory class. That would be like, top priority imo.
Energy_3
quote:
Originally posted by DJ Robby Rox
I had no idea I was doing this because I have 8 credits left to graduate (for pyschology) but I have to take an elective now to keep my grants and financial aid.

So now I have to sign up for a bull elective. I'm searching through the music classes my school offers and have NO IDEA what would be best for me.

I make trance lol, should I take a music theory class or does that usually have prerequiste classes that you have to take first?