return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > Main Forums > Chill Out Room

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 
Interpreting Dreams
View this Thread in Original format
Theresa
Ok...

So do any of you interpret your own dreams? Do you ever wonder if they mean anything? Do you like hearing other peoples dreams, and trying to interpret them?

I am no expert on the dream process, but I theorize that dreaming is something similar to defragging a computer. Your brain filters through all of the information it has processed, including thoughts, feelings, images, conversations, etc.etc.etc. and while going through this, it spews out what often seems like a very disjointed and confusing story.

I think, however, that the "story" it creates is significant in some way. Your brain is being left to its own devices, with no conscious control (if you're in REM state). Our brains are powerful machines when we have control over them, but when we lose control, is it not safe to assume that what it does on its own is important, or meaningful in some way?

Anyway, I wonder what dreams mean, or if they mean anything. I wonder what the significance is in certain things involving dreams. When you dream about someone, what are the implications? Etc.etc.etc.

I've been thinking about it lately because in the past 2 days, I have had 3 people tell me I was in their dreams.

1 - a girl from one of my classes. I have hardly said more than a few sentences to this girl, and don't even know what her name is. However, she had a dream about me. She told me that I was her room mate and that I had invited her ex over despite her own wishes of not having him in the house. She said she interpreted it as me being her "common sense" or "intelligence". It was a compliment, but at the same time it was weird.

2 - a guy I used to date. He wouldn't tell me the details... but I haven't spoken to him in months upon months. Out of no where he had a dream about me.